Exponentially fresh.

I escaped Brooklyn for the week to hide out down here in the DMV, but I guess I won’t be doing much hiding with stuff like this going on. If you’re around the way come out to these and say hello. I don’t show face much around here these days, so it’s always nice to connect with people.

First up, tonight is the album release party for Tabi Bonney’s The Summer Years. I’ve been told this is an open bar until 11pm. Venue is Recess, 727 15th St. NW. My only gripe about this is the flyer and its utter lack of essential information. What time does it start? Don’t know. What kind of liquor is gonna be at that open bar? No clue. What time does it end? Don’t know. Cover? I had to ask around, there’s no cover, and no RSVP. So please don’t ask me these things, because I really don’t know the answer.

Tomorrow brings a slightly more intellectualized version of Hip Hop fuckery to D.C., in the shape of the I Am Music panel discussion and artist showcase. Definitely looking forward to seeing Gods’Illa rock (do you have their mixtape yet? Shame on you if you don’t). The homie Langston provides the rundown on this event:

WASHINGTON, DC – (September 15, 2011) I AM MUSIC is part music festival with performances from emerging musicians and part music seminar with a discussion panel from leading musicindustry professional.  The goal of I AM MUSIC is to create a nurturing platform for artists to express their talents and to educate them in how to take their careers to the next level. Spotlight artists from the night will be selected by the industry panel to receive an one on one session with the J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League, a feature in Vibe Magazine and a complimentary recording session at Washington, DC’s renown House Studios.

Portions of the proceeds from I AM MUSIC will be donated to the MusiCares Foundation.  MusiCares provides a safety net of critical assistance for music people in times of need. MusiCares’ services and resources cover a wide range of financial, medical and personal emergencies, and each case is treated with integrity and confidentiality. MusiCares also focuses the resources and attention of the music industry on human service issues that directly impact the health and welfare of the music community.

This year’s discussion panel includes Grammy Award winning producers J.U.S.T.I.C.E League, VIBE Magazine Music Editor John F. Kennedy, MTV writer DL Chandler, FUZE Director of Marketing Dee Barmunido, WPGC 95.5’s DJ Heat and music video director Chris “Broadway” Romero.  The panel will cover topics ranging from how to make a hit record to how to get yourmusic heard by the right people. WKYS 93.3’s Pharoh Martin has been selected to moderate the discussions for the evening.

I AM MUSIC will feature performances by Tabi Bonney, Que Tha Future (formerly of Day26), Black Cobain, Gods’illa, Kingpen Slim, Uptown XO, Lyriciss, RatheMC and more.

I AM MUSIC Festival is sponsored by Rocksmith Tokyo, FUZE Beverage, I Got It For Free and Thr3e Rules.

I AM MUSIC Festival will be held in Washington, DC on Sept 21,2011 at  U ST Music Hall 1115 U St NW Washington DC. For more information on I AM MUSIC visit www.iammusicdc.com and follow I AM MUSIC on twitter www.twitter.com/iammusicfest

Be there.

Uptown XO’s mixtape premiered at 2dopeboyz, and alongside the release they gave us some new visuals to “Told You So.” Looking at these, it looks as if Irene was way more intense in D.C. than it was here in NYC. Must have been fun shooting that one (credit to Langston on the directorial front).

And, just in case you didn’t get it yet but still want it, here’s the download for Uptown XO’s “Monumental II” mixtape:

[DOWNLOAD] Uptown XO “Monumental II” Mixtape

Visuals from the D.C. spitter and Diamond District affiliate, Uptown XO. This makes me miss the D.C. area a little bit. Just a little bit. Haven’t seen some of those faces in those cameos in a long time.

I released a track from this earlier, and now the entire project is up for grabs. Inner Loop Records presents Soulful!’s Mumbo Sauce and Drumbreaks. This is like half rap, half instrumental album, 100% a great glimpse into the D.C. area Hip Hop scene right now. Track list below, as well as a link to a stream and download of the album via Bandcamp.

1. Mumbo Sauce & Drumbreaks (intro) – f/ Muggsy Malone & D.O.E. C.I.G.A.P.O.M.
2. Bass & My Flute
3. Season Opener feat. D. Julien
4. One 4 XO
5. Some Other Ship
6. Soulful! – Welcome Back
7. Soulful! ft. Cortez & IhsAn Bilal – EverybodyPeace (Not Around at the end)
8. Soulful! – Ike Hayes
9. Soulful! – Love Thing snippet feat. D.O.E C.I.G.A.P.O.M
10. MosEL & Zoe Indigo – Take It Up
11. Soulful! – Idlewild
12. Soulful! – WoodroWilsonBridge-That Mellow
13. Soulful! – CuzAndra (One 4 Slim)
14. Soulful!. Ishan Bilal – IhsAn’s Perspective (Interlude) feat. IhsAn Bilal
15. Soulful! – Rock N’ SOUL
16. Soulful! – OutHERspace
17. Mind Right feat. XO
18. Laelo Hood – Laelo Hood Skit (Interlude)
19. Soulful! – Takin’ Over-Lazy Eye
20. Soulful! – One 4 Kenn Starr
21. Soulful! – BEyourSelf
22. Soulful! – Gone Till November

[DOWNLOAD] Soulful! - Mumbo Sauce and Drumbreaks

Well that’s some interesting art work right there now, isn’t it? I’m sure there’s more than one guy in the D.C. area who enjoys the thought of some young woman covered in mumbo sauce. Anyway, Producers I Know and Inner Loop Records are teaming up to bring you Soulful!’s latest project. The first single features XO of Diamond District, and you can get it for yourself via the link below…what up, Dart?

[DOWNLOAD] Soulful! feat. XO – Mind Right